Homepage

Joint International scientific and practical conference
“Digital Century of Culture” and “EVA 2013 Moscow”

November 19 - 22, 2013

Organizers

MKRF
Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation
Russain State Library
Russian State Library
Russian association of digital libraries
Russian association of digital libraries
European Union
European Commission
PIK Centre
PIK Centre
Interregional Center of Library Cooperation
Interregional Center of Library Cooperation
culture.ru
Culture.ru

List of exibits (15)

Virtual Valley of Geysers in Kamchatka

Participant:
Leonov Andrey

Institution:
S.I. Vavilov Institute for the History of Science and Technology of the Russian Academy of Sciences

Type:
Multimedia publishing

Description:
We have developed the first accurate 3D model of the terrain of the Valley of Geysers that is geo-referenced to a world system of coordinates. An up-to-date catalogue of objects (geysers, hot springs etc.) and a set of documentary stereo-movies about the main objects were also created. All information is available online at a web-site www.valleyofgeysers.com. Also we have developed an interactive stereo-3D-application for “virtual touring” around the Valley of Geysers, that allows to explore the terrain and location of objects, as well as to learn a general structure of a geyser and geothermal system. The 3D-application is currently being demonstrated in a museum of the Kronotskiy Reserve.
The Valley of Geysers in Kamchatka, Russian Far East, is one of the largest geyser fields in the world, and the only one in Eurasia. It is located in the Kronotskiy State Natural Biosphere Reserve that is a part of UNESCO World Heritage Site "Volcanoes of Kamchatka". Only several thousand people visit the Valley every year because of its remote location and reserve status. It has seriously suffered from the landslide in 2007. About a half of all geysers were buried with the landslide and flooded with the landslide-dammed lake, and the terrain has changed dramatically. Development of the 3D model allowed to save and systematize the information about the Valley of Geysers, and to provide a wide access to data about this unique natural object for scientific and eco-educational tasks.
The project was performed in 2009-2012 by a team of enthusiasts with the support of Kronotskiy Reserve, Institute of Volcanology and Seismology of Far Eastern Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Kamchatka Branch of Geophysical Survey of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Vavilov Institute for the History of Science and Technology of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Computing for Physics and Technology, R&D Center ScanEx, Russian Foundation for Basic Research (project No. 10-07-00407), GeoEye Foundation.
Project was performed by A. Aleynikov, M. Anikushkin, A. Bobkov, E. Eremchenko, V. Konyshev, A. Leonov, A. Rashidov, S. Samoylenko and many others.

Photo:

© 2012-2019, Development and support of the Russian State Library

The authors are responsible for the choice and the presentation of the facts contained on this site and for the opinions expressed therein, which are not necessarily those of UNESCO and do not commit the Organization.

На главную

Объединенная международная научно-практическая конференция
«Электронный век культуры» и «EVA 2013 Москва»

19 – 22 ноября 2013 г.

Организаторы

MKRF
Министерство культуры Российской Федерации
Russain State Library
Российская государственная библиотека
Russian association of digital libraries
Российская ассоциация электронных библиотек
European Union
Комиссия Европейского Сообщества
PIK Centre
Центр ПИК
Interregional Center of Library Cooperation
Межрегиональный Центр библиотечного сотрудничества
culture.ru
Культура.рф

Cписок экспонатов (15)

Виртуальная Долина гейзеров на Камчатке

Участник:
Леонов Андрей Владимирович

Организация:
Институт истории науки и техники им. С.И. Вавилова Российской академии наук

Вид:
Мультимедийные издания

Описание:
Впервые создана точная цифровая 3D модель территории Долины гейзеров, привязанная к мировой системе координат. Создан современный каталог объектов (гейзеров, горячих источников и др.) и набор документальных стерео-видеофильмов об основных объектах. Вся информация доступна в Интернете на веб-сайте www.valleyofgeysers.com. Также разработано интерактивное стерео-3D-приложение для виртуального «путешествия» по Долине гейзеров, которое позволяет изучать рельеф местности и расположение объектов, а также ознакомиться с общей схемой работы гейзера и геотермальной системы. 3D-приложение демонстрируется в музее ФГБУ «Кроноцкий государственный заповедник».
Долина гейзеров на Камчатке — одно из крупнейших в мире скоплений гейзеров, и единственное в Евразии. Она расположена в Кроноцком заповеднике, который входит во всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО в номинации «Вулканы Камчатки». Из-за удалённого расположения и заповедного статуса Долину посещают всего несколько тысяч человек в год. В 2007 г. здесь произошёл крупный оползень, в результате которого многие гейзеры были завалены или затоплены, а рельеф территории заметно изменился. Создание 3D-модели позволило сохранить и систематизировать информацию о Долине гейзеров, а также обеспечить широкий доступ к данным об этом уникальном природном объекте для научных и экопросветительских задач.
Проект выполнен в 2009-2012 гг. группой энтузиастов при поддержке ФГБУ «Кроноцкий государственный заповедник», Института вулканологии и сейсмологии ДВО РАН, Камчатского филиала Геофизической службы РАН, Института истории естествознания и техники им. С. И. Вавилова РАН, АНО «Институт физико-технической информатики», ИТЦ «СканЭкс», РФФИ (проект №10-07-00407), GeoEye Foundation.
Над проектом работали А. Алейников, М. Аникушкин, А. Бобков, Е. Ерёмченко, В. Конышев, А. Леонов, А. Рашидов, С. Самойленко и многие другие.

Фотография:

© 2012-2018, Разработка и сопровождение сайта Российская государственная библиотека

Авторы материалов, опубликованных на этом сайте, отвечают за выбор и представление фактов и за выраженные здесь мнения, которые не обязательно совпадают с точкой зрения ЮНЕСКО и не компрометируют эту организацию.