Homepage

Joint International scientific and practical conference
“Digital Century of Culture” and “EVA 2013 Moscow”

November 19 - 22, 2013

Organizers

MKRF
Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation
Russain State Library
Russian State Library
Russian association of digital libraries
Russian association of digital libraries
European Union
European Commission
PIK Centre
PIK Centre
Interregional Center of Library Cooperation
Interregional Center of Library Cooperation
culture.ru
Culture.ru

List of reports (97)

3D-documents and Virtual Environments in a Museum Exhibition

Participant:
Leonov Andrey

Keywords:
3D-document, Virtual Heritage, Virtual Environment

Co-reporters:
Bobkov A.E.

Thesis:
The development of technique for recording of spatial information about objects led to a rise of a new type of scientific and technical documentation: 3D document [1]. 3D document is specially organized information that is meant for providing user three-dimension visual image (3D model) of an object or a process, as well as various additional data connected with this visual image. Digital 3D model can contain data about the geometry (topology) and spatial orientation of an object, its external appearance and internal structure (elements, connections), characteristics of materials, dynamics in time etc. In a 3D document, the spatial information about the object’s geometry and structure is stored in some three-dimension system of coordinates that is connected with the object. This is the principal difference of the 3D document from drawings, diagrams, photo and film documents which retain the two-dimensional images of the object.
The simplest example of a 3D document is a three dimension point cloud model captured by a laser scanner. Other kinds of three dimension models could be built on the basis of the point cloud, such as polygonal mesh model or solid model. A 3D document can be also created as a result of tomography, photogrammetry, modeling based on drawings etc. More and more digital 3D models of real or historical objects are being created nowadays all over the world. Among them, models of artificial and natural objects of a public value – from cultural and natural monuments up to other kinds of a national or a world heritage [2]. Such 3D models are not only the new type of documents which preserve an information about the object, but also a new type of museum showpieces which may (and should) be demonstrated to a wide public.
Virtual 3D modeling is especially popular in such fields like virtual archaeology and historical architectural reconstruction. For example, we can mention a well-known Rome Reborn project which is devoted to a virtual 3D modeling of the Ancient Roma [3]. In 2012 the State Hermitage Museum (St. Petersburg, Russia) held the First international conference in Russia on virtual archaeology. This conference had attracted dozens of reports in the field of virtual modeling and reconstruction [4].
Demonstration of a virtual 3D model allows to show in a museum exhibition:
1) large scale objects (towers, bridges, castles, underground structures, urban development etc.);
2) lost or vanished objects (archaeological reconstruction, historical architectural reconstruction);
3) remotely located and hard to access objects;
4) spatially distributed objects (for example, showpieces from different museums’ collections);
5) valuable showpieces or endangered objects (which has a restricted public access).
A 3D model enhanced with an appropriate software tools allows user to overview and explore the object independently, including its external appearance and internal structure, and to «travel» through the virtual model. «Gamification» [5] of an object’s presentation in a museum exhibition can significantly increase the audience interest, especially among children and teenagers. 3D documents could be used not only for demonstration of objects’ images to a wide public but also for analysis of objects by specialists, as well as for educational tasks.
In 2012 authors together with colleagues created a virtual 3D model of the Denisova Cave in the Altai Mountains, as well as the software for interactive stereoscopic visualization of this model and relative information [6]. Denisova Cave in the Altai Mountains (Siberia, Russia) is a world famous Paleolithic site (51° 23′ 51.29″ N, 84° 40′ 34.34″ E). Regular archaeological excavations are being performed here since 1982, more than 20 cultural layers were revealed, and more than 80000 finds were collected. In 2008, a new branch in human evolution was discovered based on finds in the Denisova Cave [7].

In August 2012, we performed laser scanning and detailed photography of the cave. 37 scan stations were made; full point cloud contains about 50 millions of points. After this we created a textured polygonal 3D model based on the results of the laser scanning and photography. The model consists of about 90 thousand polygons. The resolution of the texture varies for the different parts of the model from 30 to 100 thousand pixels per 1 square meter of a model surface. Thus we have created a detailed 3D model of a cave which preserves its geometry and appearance with high accuracy and resolution.
The created 3D model was referenced in an archaeological coordinate system. This system is used by archaeologists for the spatial referencing (registration of location) of finds. Thus we provided a means to compare the 3D model and existing archaeological schemes, and directly transfer the existing archaeological database into a virtual space of the 3D model. We also scanned, photographed and modeled several finds made in the cave (stone implements).
In order to visualize the created 3D model of the cave, we developed an interactive 3D presentation (software). The presentation supports both mono- and stereoscopic visualization. It provides visualization of a point cloud, 3D model of the cave and 3D models of finds, as well as visualization of the spatial distribution of finds in different archaeological layers. It also supports visualization of additional data: cardinal directions, axes and grid of ASC, location of permanent marks of ASC. The 3D model of the cave can be virtually cut at any horizontal layer; this option helps to analyze visually the geometry of the cave and localization of finds.
The presentations have four windows: «Globe», «Cave», «Cloud of finds», and «3D model of an item». The user can switch between windows arbitrarily. In the «Globe» window, user can explore the virtual globe with an embedded model of a cave, and analyze the location of a cave and surrounding landscape. In the «Cave» window, the 3D model of the cave and other objects are presented. In the «Cloud of finds» window, only the location of archaeological finds is visualized (coordinates of finds, surfaces of archaeological layers, spatial orientation of finds). In the «3D model of an item» window, the user can explore 3D models of finds and switch between them.
The created 3D document can be used for presentations, as well as for research tasks (for example, visual analysis of stratigraphy and deposition of sediments). The presentations can be also used for virtual travel in the cave, including free online tours and museum exhibitions. It is especially important to have this information for remote and hard to access heritage sites, such as the Denisova Cave in the Altai Mountains.
References
[1]. Leonov A.V., Baturin Yu.M. 3D dokument — novyy tip nauchno-technicheskoy documentatsii // Vestnik arkhivista. 2013. № 2. S. 192-205.
[2]. Leonov A.V., Baturin Yu.M., Petropavlovskaya I.A. O neobkhodimosti 3D documentirovaniya pamyatnikov tekhniki: primer Shukhovskoy bashni na Shabolovke // Voprosy istorii yestestvoznaniya I tekhniki. 2013. № 3. S. 156-170.
[3]. Rome Reborn project web-site: http://romereborn.frischerconsulting.com/
[4]. Virtual Archaeology: Proc. of the First International Conference, held at the State Hermitage Museum 4-6 June 2012. St. Petersburg, The State Hermitage Publishers, 2013.
[5]. Marczewski, Andrzej. Gamification: A Simple Introduction & a Bit More. 2012. Amazon Kindle Edition. 153 p.
[6]. Mikhail Anikushkin, Aleksandr Bobkov, and Andrey Leonov. A 3D Documentation Project in Russia: Data Capture, Modeling and Representation // GeoInformatics Magazine (ISSN 1387-0858). 2013. September (No. 6). P. 38-39.
[7]. Johannes Krause, Qiaomei Fu, Jeffrey M. Good, Bence Viola, Michael V. Shunkov, Anatoli P. Derevianko, and Svante Pääbo. The complete mitochondrial DNA genome of an unknown hominin from southern Siberia // Nature. № 464. P. 894—897 (8 April 2010).

Section:
Section "Virtual Reality in Historical Reconstructions"

© 2012-2018, Development and support of the Russian State Library

The authors are responsible for the choice and the presentation of the facts contained on this site and for the opinions expressed therein, which are not necessarily those of UNESCO and do not commit the Organization.

На главную

Объединенная международная научно-практическая конференция
«Электронный век культуры» и «EVA 2013 Москва»

19 – 22 ноября 2013 г.

Организаторы

MKRF
Министерство культуры Российской Федерации
Russain State Library
Российская государственная библиотека
Russian association of digital libraries
Российская ассоциация электронных библиотек
European Union
Комиссия Европейского Сообщества
PIK Centre
Центр ПИК
Interregional Center of Library Cooperation
Межрегиональный Центр библиотечного сотрудничества
culture.ru
Культура.рф

Cписок докладов (98)

3D-документы и виртуальная реальность в музейной экспозиции

Участник:
Леонов Андрей Владимирович

Ключевые слова:
3D-документ, виртуальное наследие, виртуальная реальность

Соавторы:
Бобков А.Е.

Тезисы:
Развитие технических средств фиксации пространственной информации об объектах привело к появлению нового типа научно-технической документации: 3D-документа [1]. 3D-документ – это особым образом организованная информация, предназначенная для представления пользователю трехмерного визуального образа (3D-модели) объекта или процесса, а также разнообразной дополнительной информации, связанной с этим визуальным образом. Цифровая 3D-модель может содержать информацию о геометрии (топологии) и пространственной ориентации объекта, его внешнем виде, внутренней структуре (элементах, связях), особенностях материалов, динамике во времени и др. В 3D-документе пространственная информация о геометрии и структуре объекта хранится в некоторой трехмерной системе координат, связанной с объектом. В этом состоит его качественное отличие от рисунков, схем, чертежей, фото- и кинодокументов, которые сохраняют двумерные изображения объекта.
Простейшим примером 3D-документа является модель в виде трёхмерного облака точек, полученная в результате лазерного сканирования объекта (point cloud). На основе этого облака точек может быть построена трёхмерная полигональная модель объекта (mesh), трёхмерная твердотельная модель (solid). Также 3D-документ может быть создан в результате применения методов томографии (построение 3D-модели внутренней структуры объекта по его послойным сечениям), фотограмметрии (построение 3D-модели объекта по его двумерным изображениям с разных ракурсов), в результате 3D-моделирования по чертежам и др.
Цифровые 3D-модели реальных или исторических объектов создаются сегодня в мире в постоянно возрастающих масштабах. В том числе, создаются модели рукотворных и природных объектов, представляющих общественную ценность – от памятников культуры и природы до иных видов национального или мирового достояния [2]. Такие 3D-модели представляют собой не только новый тип документа, сохраняющего информацию об объекте, но и новый тип музейного экспоната, который может (и должен) демонстрироваться широкой публике.
Особенно активно виртуальные 3D-модели создаются в сфере виртуальной археологии и исторической архитектурной реконструкции. Например, широко известен проект Rome Reborn, посвящённый созданию виртуальной 3D модели античного Рима [3]. В 2012 г. Государственный Эрмитаж провёл первую в России международную конференцию по виртуальной археологии, которая собрала десятки докладов в сфере виртуального моделирования и реконструкции [4].
Демонстрация виртуальной 3D-модели позволяет показать в музейной экспозиции:
1) объекты большого масштаба (башни, мосты, крепости, подземные сооружения, городскую застройку и т.п.);
2) утерянные или ныне не существующие объекты (археологическая реконструкция, историческая архитектурная реконструкция);
3) территориально удалённые и труднодоступные объекты;
4) территориально разнесённые объекты (например, экспонаты из коллекций разных музеев);
5) ценные экспонаты или объекты, находящиеся под угрозой разрушения (оригиналы которых недоступны широкой публике).
Трёхмерная модель, снабжённая соответствующим программным инструментарием, позволяет пользователю самостоятельно осматривать и изучать объект, включая его внешний вид и внутреннее устройство, «путешествовать» по виртуальной модели. «Геймификация» [5] процесса ознакомления с объектом в музейной экспозиции способна существенно повысить заинтересованность пользователя, особенно среди молодёжной и детской аудитории. 3D-документ может использоваться не только для демонстрации образа объекта широкой публике, но и для анализа объекта специалистами, а также для образовательных приложений.
В 2012 г. авторами совместно с коллегами был выполнен проект по созданию виртуальной 3D-модели Денисовой пещеры на Алтае, а также программного обеспечения для интерактивной стереоскопической визуализации этой модели и дополнительной информации [6]. Денисова пещера на Алтае — выдающийся природный и археологический памятник мирового значения. Регулярные раскопки здесь ведутся с 1982 г., выявлено более 20 культурных слоев, собрано более 80000 экспонатов. Находки, сделанные российскими археологами в Денисовой пещере в 2008 г., привели к открытию новой эволюционной ветви в развитии человека [7].
В августе 2012 г. было выполнено лазерное сканирование и детальная фотосъёмка пещеры. Было сделано 37 сканерных станций, полное облако точек содержит около 50 млн. точек. По результатам лазерного сканирования и фотосъёмки была создана текстурированная полигональная модель пещеры (около 90 тыс. полигонов). Разрешение текстуры составляет для разных участков от 30 до 100 тыс. пикселей на 1 кв м. поверхности модели. Таким образом, была создана детальная 3D-модель пещеры, которая фиксирует её геометрию и внешний вид с высокой точностью. Созданная 3D-модель была привязана к археологической системе координат, которая используется для пространственной привязки находок. Таким образом, была обеспечена возможность сопоставления созданной 3D-модели с археологическими схемами, и непосредственного переноса массива имеющихся археологических данных в виртуальное пространство 3D-модели. Было также проведено лазерное сканирование, фотографирование и 3D-моделирование образцов находок, сделанных в пещере (каменных орудий).
Для визуализации созданной 3D-модели пещеры была создана интерактивная 3D-презентация (программное обеспечение). Презентация обеспечивает визуализацию облака точек, 3D-модели пещеры и моделей находок, пространственного расположения находок в различных археологических горизонтах. Кроме того, поддерживается визуализация дополнительных данных: направлений на стороны света, осей, сетки и положения реперов археологической системы координат. Поддержана возможность горизонтального среза виртуальной модели на любом уровне для удобства визуального анализа геометрии пещеры и расположения находок.
В презентации предусмотрено четыре окна, между которыми пользователь может переключаться в произвольном порядке. В окне «Глобус» отображается виртуальный глобус с внедрённой на него трёхмерной моделью пещеры – таким образом, можно изучить расположение пещеры на местности и окружающий рельеф. В окне «Пещера» отображаются модели пещеры и других объектов. В окне «Облако находок» визуализируется только местоположение находок в археологических горизонтах. В окне «3D модель находки» отображаются модели отдельных предметов, с возможностью переключения между ними.
Созданный 3D-документ применяется как для демонстрационных, так и исследовательских задач (например, визуального анализа стратиграфии и осадконакопления). Также он может использоваться для организации виртуальной экскурсии, - как в составе музейной экспозиции, так и посредством общедоступного Интернет-ресурса. Это особенно актуально для Денисовой пещеры на Алтае, которая является труднодоступным для посещения объектом.
Литература
[1]. Леонов А.В., Батурин Ю.М. 3D документ — новый тип научно-технической документации // Вестник архивиста. 2013. № 2. С. 192-205.
[2]. Леонов А.В, Батурин Ю.М., Петропавловская И.А. О необходимости 3D документирования памятников техники: пример Шуховской башни на Шаболовке // Вопросы истории естествознания и техники. 2013. № 3. С. 156-170.
[3]. Веб-сайта проекта виртуальной трёхмерной реконструкции античного Рима «Rome Reborn»: http://romereborn.frischerconsulting.com/
[4]. Виртуальная археология: материалы Первой международной конференции, состоявшейся в Государственном Эрмитаже 4-6 июня 2012 г. СПб: Изд-во Государственного Эрмитажа, 2013.
[5]. Marczewski, Andrzej. Gamification: A Simple Introduction & a Bit More. 2012. Amazon Kindle Edition. 153 p.
[6]. Mikhail Anikushkin, Aleksandr Bobkov, and Andrey Leonov. A 3D Documentation Project in Russia: Data Capture, Modeling and Representation // GeoInformatics Magazine (ISSN 1387-0858). 2013. September (No. 6). P. 38-39.
[7]. Johannes Krause, Qiaomei Fu, Jeffrey M. Good, Bence Viola, Michael V. Shunkov, Anatoli P. Derevianko, and Svante Pääbo. The complete mitochondrial DNA genome of an unknown hominin from southern Siberia // Nature. № 464. P. 894—897 (8 April 2010).

Секция:
Секция "Виртуальная реальность в исторических реконструкциях"

© 2012-2018, Разработка и сопровождение сайта Российская государственная библиотека

Авторы материалов, опубликованных на этом сайте, отвечают за выбор и представление фактов и за выраженные здесь мнения, которые не обязательно совпадают с точкой зрения ЮНЕСКО и не компрометируют эту организацию.